Events Calendar
Click here for upcoming trainings and community events
Site Search
Site Map
RSS Feeds
AFSCME Election Central

Click Here for Endorsement/Contribution Process

We typically leave the most recent endorsement list posted on this site as we find many members like to review this list during the legislative session and/or interim period and review who the Council did and didn't endorse as issues arise at the capitol. Older endorsement lists are archived below.

If you have any questions, Bryan Branstetter is the Oregon AFSCME Political Action Committee Chair.

General Election 2014 Endorsement List
Sep 08, 2014
Oregon AFSCME Council 75 has released its list of endorsements for the Nov

Oregon AFSCME Council 75 has released its list of endorsements for the Nov. 4 General Election.


Our union utilizes a democratic endorsement process. Candidates are required to fill out a questionnaire and then interview before a panel of union members; that panel then gives its endorsement recommendations to the union's Political Action Committee (PAC). After review, the PAC forwards those recommendations to the full Oregon AFSCME Executive Board, which has the final say on endorsements.


The only exceptions to this process are those state legislators who compiled a 100 percent AFSCME voting record in the previous full legislative session (in this case, the 2013 session) and are running for the same office. Legislators who meet those two qualifications receive an automatic endorsement. The names of candidates who have gained automatic endorsements are denoted in boldface below.


Fields left blank indicate that no action was taken in that particular race. Please note that if you don't see your state Senate seat on the list, it's because Senate seats are 4-year terms so only half of them are up for election every other year.


This list also includes some local union endorsements. Generally speaking, such endorsements are left to the local with employees at that agency; that is, Local 2831, which represents Lane County employees, has "jurisdiction" in making the endorsement decisions for the Lane County Commission, for example. In some cases the Council may then follow with an endorsement of its own. If your local union has made an endorsement for a race in your community that you would like to see listed here, please e-mail that information to Oregon AFSCME Communications Director Don Loving.




U.S. Senate — Jeff Merkley (D)




Governor — John Kitzhaber (D)




Measure 86 — YES (Oregon Opportunity Initiative)

Measure 88 — YES (Driver's cards)

Measure 89 — YES (Oregon Equal Rights Amendment)

Measure 90 — NO (Elections Top Two)




Senate District 03 — Alan Bates (D)

Senate District 04 — Floyd Prozanski (D)

Senate District 06 — Lee Beyer (D)

Senate District 07 —

Senate District 08 — Sara Gelser (D)

Senate District 10 — Jackie Winters (R)

Senate District 11 — Peter Courtney (D)

Senate District 13 — Ryan Howard (D)

Senate District 15 — Chuck Riley (D)

Senate District 16 —

Senate District 17 — Elizabeth Steiner Hayward (D)

Senate District 19 — Richard Devlin (D)

Senate District 20 — Jamie Damon (D)

Senate District 23 — Michael Dembrow (D)

Senate District 24 —

Senate District 26 — Robert Bruce (D)




House District 01 —

House District 02 — Kerry Atherton (D)

House District 03 — Carl Wilson (R)

House District 04 —

House District 05 — Peter Buckley (D)

House District 06 —

House District 07 —

House District 08 — Paul Holvey (D)

House District 09 — Caddy McKeown (D)

House District 10 — David Gomberg (D)

House District 11 — Phil Barnhart (D)

House District 12 — John Lively (D)

House District 13 — Nancy Nathanson (D)ยง

House District 14 — Val Hoyle (D)

House District 15 — Andy Olson (R)

House District 16 — Dan Rayfield (D)

House District 17 —

House District 18 — Vic Gilliam (R)

House District 19 — Bill Dalton (D)

House District 20 — Paul Evans (D)

House District 21 — Brian Clem (D)

House District 22 — Betty Komp (D)

House District 23 — Wanda Davis (D)

House District 24 —

House District 25 — Chuck Lee (I)

House District 26 —

House District 27 — Tobias Read (D)

House District 28 — Jeff Barker (D)

House District 29 — Susan McLain (D)

House District 30 — Joe Gallegos (D)

House District 31 — Brad Witt (D)

House District 32 —

House District 33 — Mitch Greenlick (D)

House District 34 — Ken Helm (D)

House District 35 — Margaret Doherty (D)

House District 36 — Jennifer Williamson (D)

House District 37 —

House District 38 — Ann Lininger (D)

House District 39 — Bill Kennemer (R)

House District 40 — Brent Barton (D)

House District 41 — Kathleen Taylor (D)

House District 42 — Rob Nosse (D)

House District 43 — Lew Frederick (D)

House District 44 — Tina Kotek (D)

House District 45 — Barbara Smith-Warner (D)

House District 46 — Alissa Keny-Guyer (D)

House District 47 — Jessica Vega Pederson (D)

House District 48 — Jeff Reardon (D)

House District 49 — Chris Gorsek (D)

House District 50 — Carla Piluso (D)

House District 51 — Shemia Fagan (D)

House District 52 — Stephanie Nystrom (D)

House District 53 — Gene Whisnant (R)

House District 54 — Craig Wilhelm (D)

House District 55 —

House District 56 —

House District 57 — Greg Smith (R)

House District 58 —

House District 59 — John Huffman (R)

House District 60 




Clatsop County Commission, District 5 — Dale Barrett


Columbia County Commission, Position 2 — Henry Heimuller


Deschutes County Commission, Position 1 — Jodie Barram


Polk County Commission, Position 2 — Danny Jaffer


Yamhill County Commission, Position 1 — Sal Peralta




The Oregon Education Association is asking AFSCME voters in Clackamas County to support Measure 3-447, the Clackamas Community College bond measure. OEA notes that Measure 3-447 does not increase taxes, it simply continues the current bond rate for CCC — a low rate of less than $40 per year for most Clackamas County property owners. The bond will support Career Technical Education programs needed for students of all ages into the future, and Measure 3-447 supports affordable transfer programs that lead to four-year degrees.


Page Last Updated: Oct 15, 2014 (14:43:00)

Download Our App!
Local Pages
Member Benefits!
You are eligible for special benefits just because you're an AFSCME member!
Click here
E-Lert Sign-Up:
Want periodic political and legislative news delivered right to your email in-box? 
Click here
Click here for a list of union child care providers.

Purchase with this Login:
user: AFSCME
pass: Member

Oregon AFSCME Council 75
Copyright © 2015, All Rights Reserved.
Powered By UnionActive™

606436 hits since Nov 01, 2007

Top of Page image